vivaciousinvintage

Megara, or the other (badass) Disney princesses | February 23, 2011

Listening to: “Tonight Tonight” by Hot Hot Heat
mood: happy 🙂
procrastinating on: catching up on my reading

Thanks, it’s been a slice.

Where are all of the badass Disney princesses? I want to see some ladies who can tie their own sandals, thankyouverymuch.  I just came across a hipster Disney tumblr blog and it made me think of all the grand old days of VHS and Disney.

Which then make me think of an article I recently read about parents’ concerns with the damsel in distress princess mind set.

I am a damsel. Occasionally I am in distress. I handle it. Life goes on.

So, along with Meg, who else would I consider a badass princess?

1. Eilonwy, The Black CauldronShe has a magical glowing ball and is an enchantress.  In the books by Lloyd Alexander she repeatedly owns Taran and kicks ass.

2. Anastasia She is a lost princess and kicks Rasputin back into the netherworld. Or wherever he came from.
 And she gets Dmitri, who is totes awesome.

3. Belle, Beauty and the Beast She’s brunette. She reads. She knows tools. She’s an outsider. Totally recognize with her.

4. MulanShe pretends to be a guy and wins that arrow challenge, saves the day, and gets the guy. What more could a girl ask for?

5. Sophie, Howl’s Moving CastleEven though she’s old (and I don’t think this is a Disney movie?) she keeps up with Howl. And is totally magical in her own right.

6. Captain Amelia, Treasure PlanetShe captains her own ship. She looks to be part cat. She’s steampunk. It’s been too long since I’ve seen this movie to remember anything else.

Those are the only one I can think of right now.
— s.

PS: Did they give you a name along with all of those rippling pectorals?


Leave a Comment »

Leave a comment